Sharing Knowledge | System Admin Articles

AIX Boot Process

AIX Booting Process explained below.

Phases of the Boot Process:

   1. Read Only Storage Kernel Init Phase

         1. Motherboard is Checked
         2. Bootlist is found
         3. Boot image is read into memory
         4. Initialization starts

   2. Base Device Configuration Phase
         1. All devices are configured with cfgmgr command

   3. System Boot Phase
         1. Logical volumes are varied on
         2. Paging is started
         3. /etc/inittab is processed
         4. Relevant Services according to run level  starts. srcmstr daemon controls this

Labels: AIX, Booting, Notes

My Profile PhotoAbout the Author

I'm Parthiban, An UNIX System Admin by Profession. I'm Experienced in Linux/Unix System Administration and Scripting. I have done lot of work on the infrastructure Mgmt side in Linux, UNIX and Windows system administration, Hardware, Storage and Data center. I'm blogging since 2008.
Follow Me On Twitter or On Facebook

0 Comments for "AIX Boot Process"

What do you think about this Article? Add your Opinion..!

Back To Top