Sharing Knowledge | System Admin Articles

Runlevel Service Management in Linux

  • We can indicate desired runlevels for each services in Linux
  • Services are located in: /etc/init.d

1. /usr/sbin/ntsysv:

1. ntsysv - manages services in the current run-level
2. ntsysv 35 - manages services for run-levels 3 & 5

Note: ntsysv nor chkconfig starts|stops services

2. Chkconfig

1. chkconfig --list ntpd - returns run-level environment for 'ntpd'
Note: items listed as 'off' have K (kill) scripts Note: items listed as 'on' have S (start) scripts
2. chkconfig --level 3 ntpd off - creates a K(kill) script in run-level 3

3. chkconfig --level 35 ntpd off
4. chkconfig ntpd on - enables 'ntpd' in levels 2-5
5. chkconfig ntpd off - disables 'ntpd' in levels 0-6
Note: Use 'chkconfig' from the shell or a script
Note: Use 'ntsysv' from the shell in interactive mode
Note: When controlling services using 'chkconfig', reference the name of the service as it's specified in: /etc/init.d
system-config-services - GUI tool to manage services

Labels: Linux, Quick HOWTO

My Profile PhotoAbout the Author

I'm Parthiban, An UNIX System Admin by Profession. I'm Experienced in Linux/Unix System Administration and Scripting. I have done lot of work on the infrastructure Mgmt side in Linux, UNIX and Windows system administration, Hardware, Storage and Data center. I'm blogging since 2008.
Follow Me On Twitter or On Facebook

0 Comments for "Runlevel Service Management in Linux"

What do you think about this Article? Add your Opinion..!

Back To Top